Log in
Log inBook a demo

ITIL Foundation, Part 1 of 5: Introduction

LearnNow Online
3 hrs 34 mins

ITIL Foundation, Part 1 of 5: Introduction

LearnNow Online
3 hrs 34 mins
Included in GO1 PremiumStarting from $12 per user for teamsLearn moreTry it free
Included in GO1 PremiumStarting from $12 per user for teamsLearn moreTry it free

Course description

In this course we provide an overview of ITIL and its history along with ITIL’s relationship to international standards, primarily ISO/IEC 20000. Our focus is on the ITIL lifecycle as defined by ITIL v3 as documented in the 2011 release. This course will address several areas within ITIL and the Service Lifecycle. These areas include understanding Service Management and what is a service and what we mean with the term ‘Best Practice’. Then we’ll begin to provide a high-level understanding of the core phases of ITIL, Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement (CSI). We will then add to our knowledge of these areas with a detailed discussion of Service Management as a practice within the industry. We will begin to lay down the basic concepts and principles of Service Management. We introduce several key terms that are critical to understanding both Service Management and the Service Lifecycle. We want to start to build that big picture of Service Management and how IT Service Management fits within the big picture. This will include both supporting and complimentary components found within ITIL. As governance continues to be a topic within many organizations, we will also review what governance is and how Service Management and ITIL can help establish a governance framework.

Each LearnNowOnline training course is made up of Modules (typically an hour in length). Within each module there are Topics (typically 15-30 minutes each) and Subtopics (typically 2-5 minutes each). There is a Post Exam for each Module that must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to successfully and fully complete the course.


This course is designed for IT service professionals looking to improve their IT processes and organization. They should have knowledge of what IT does and who are their customers.

Meet the expert

Kurt McWhirter

Kurt McWhirter is a recognized authority on using the ITIL framework and has more than 30 years of experience in IT strategic planning, operations management, and enterprise process design and implementation. He is certified as an ITIL Expert and ISO/IEC 20000 Consultant and is an accredited ITIL Trainer. He is the lead author of the book "The Definitive Guide to IT Service Metrics.”

Video Runtime

97 Minutes

Time to complete

214 Minutes

Course Outline

Introduction ITIL Foundation

Introduction (11:36)

  • Introduction (01:03)
  • Course Objectives (01:12)
  • Certification Exam (02:49)
  • Qualification Scheme (00:30)
  • Intermediate Classes (00:27)
  • Capability Modules (03:19)
  • Intermediate Capabilities (01:53)
  • Summary (00:19)

Service Life Cycle (22:34)

  • Introduction (00:39)
  • What is ITIL? (06:25)
  • ITIL Logistics (05:05)
  • Service Lifecycle Components (04:19)
  • Service Lifecycle Phases (02:41)
  • Main Concepts (02:27)
  • Summary (00:55)

Service Management Practice (39:03)

  • Introduction (00:47)
  • IT Today (09:59)
  • The IT Opportunity (02:20)
  • What is a Service? (05:37)
  • What is an IT Service? (02:01)
  • Service Classification Types (02:36)
  • What is Service Management? (05:13)
  • What is IT Service Management? (01:02)
  • What Comprises Value? (04:20)
  • ITSM and Failure (04:35)
  • Summary (00:30)

The 4 Ps of Service Design (24:39)

  • Introduction (01:17)
  • The 4 Ps of Service Design (01:44)
  • Key ITSM Roles (04:31)
  • Governance (03:09)
  • Other Quality Frameworks (04:45)
  • ISO/IEC 20000 - ITSM Standard (02:52)
  • Plan-Do-Check-ACT (PDCA) Model (01:25)
  • ITIL and ISO/IEC 20000 (02:56)
  • Summary (01:58)